This Christmas Don’t Drive Sleep Deprived

What is more common that texting while driving and just about as dangerous as drunk driving?   It’s Drowsy Driving and I will be the first to admit that I have dDon't Sleep Deprive & Drive This Christmasriven when I was sleepy on several occasions.  In fact I can remember waking my Dad up at the wheel as we were driving to my sisters college graduation. Yikes!

Even if you don’t admit to it,  I know I am not alone because we are so quick to, dare I say, brag about how little sleep we operate on or think we can get away with.  Then we drink up the coffee, latte, red bull or B12 shots to compensate. Ironically I stumbled upon a “Dozing While Driving” story while staying up too late, depriving myself of sleep watching Nightline.  This report has scared me straight.  It’s a MUST see!

What they revealed is clearly a wake up call (pun intended).  Exhausted drivers are the blame for over 6,000 deaths every year.  That’s second only to driving while intoxicated fatalities and ahead of the newer driving while texting or otherwise distracted accidents.  Why, because according to Sleep Researchers at Liberty Mutual Research Institute, about 250,000 sleep deprived Americans are on the road every day.

It can be one sleepless night or chronic sleep deprivation and all sorts of problems can occur.

This time of year more than any other, it seems like there is just not enough time in the day to get it all done.  Whether it’s final exams and papers due, end of year fourth quarter quotas to meet, holiday programs, parties, shopping, entertaining, basketball games, football playoffs, we are busy.  Who can afford to sleep the 7-9 hours experts say we need?  Well the reality is, who can afford not to sleep? The answer, no-one.  We can’t afford to not  sleep.  We MUST budget for, afford and prioritize sleeping 7-9 hours every night. I know…but I’m going to try too…

Oh and drivers under 25 are to blame for most of the drowsy driving accidents so young people GO TO SLEEP :-)…that means parents, we need to model and figure out how to help them slow down enough to get adequate sleep.  Not just for safe driving, Developing minds need sleep in general.

Why don’t we all just lobby for a nationwide nap time! Please Watch this Nightline Clip.

 

2 responses to “This Christmas Don’t Drive Sleep Deprived

  1. I am unsure where you’re getting the information, however great subject. I have to take some time learning much more or recognizing more. Thanks for fantastic information I had been seeking for this info for my mission.

  2. This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate info… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

Leave a Reply

